Nero

I occasionally struggle with being a horrible person.

You see, most people struggle with self-control issues; drinking, gambling, eating too much cake. But me? No, I struggle with being venomous, callous, arrogant, eating too much cake.

I don’t know where I first began my contention. People go about every day being but twice removed from Nero without a second thought. But me? Sometimes I leap from my bed wanting to be kind and nurturing. But sometimes I want to play the fiddle while I watch my city burn.

Is that a character flaw? Maybe, but I will contend I am not as near to Nero as those who stoke my city’s flame.

So, yes, I occasionally struggle with being a horrible person. So if the day comes when you hear the haunting tones of my fiddle, know it was you who struck the match.

Leave a Reply

